HadithQuranic Themes

What are the Sacred Months in Islam

2 Mins read

What are the Sacred Months in Islam

Assalamu alaikum dear readers,

Today, we are going to learn about the four sacred months in Islam. As Muslims, it is important for us to understand the significance of these months in our faith. The four sacred months are the months of Zul-Qa’dah, Zul-Hijjah, Muharram, and Rajab.

The first of the four sacred months is Zul-Qa’dah. It is the eleventh month of the Islamic calendar. In this month, it is recommended to perform good deeds and avoid sins. Muslims should also seek forgiveness from Allah (SWT), as they prepare for the upcoming sacred month of Zul-Hijjah.

Zul-Hijjah is the twelfth and final month of the Islamic calendar. This month is particularly important because it is the month of Hajj, where millions of Muslims from around the world come together to perform the pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca. The first ten days of Zul-Hijjah are considered to be the most blessed days of the year. Muslims are encouraged to increase their worship and good deeds during this time. The day of Arafah, which falls on the ninth day of Zul-Hijjah, is the most important day of the pilgrimage and one of the most important days in the Islamic calendar.

Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and marks the beginning of the new year. It is a month of mourning and reflection for Muslims, as it marks the anniversary of the Battle of Karbala, where Imam Hussain (AS) and his companions were martyred. Muslims remember this tragic event by holding mourning processions and reciting special prayers.

Lastly, Rajab is the seventh month of the Islamic calendar and is considered sacred because it is the month in which the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) made his miraculous night journey, known as the Isra and Mi’raj, from Mecca to Jerusalem and then to the heavens. Muslims are encouraged to increase their worship and good deeds during this month, as a way to gain blessings and forgiveness from Allah (SWT).

In conclusion, the four sacred months are a time for Muslims to reflect on their faith and strive towards righteousness. It is also a time for increased worship and good deeds, as we seek to gain the blessings and forgiveness of Allah (SWT). We should make the most of these months and use them as an opportunity to strengthen our relationship with Allah (SWT) and improve ourselves as believers.

May Allah (SWT) bless us all and guide us on the straight path. Ameen.

Sura Towba Ayah (Verse) 36

٣٦  إِنَّ عِدَّةَ الشُّهُورِ عِنْدَ اللَّهِ اثْنَا عَشَرَ شَهْرًا فِي كِتَابِ اللَّهِ يَوْمَ خَلَقَ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضَ مِنْهَا أَرْبَعَةٌ حُرُمٌ ۚ ذَٰلِكَ الدِّينُ الْقَيِّمُ ۚ فَلَا تَظْلِمُوا فِيهِنَّ أَنْفُسَكُمْ ۚ وَقَاتِلُوا الْمُشْرِكِينَ كَافَّةً كَمَا يُقَاتِلُونَكُمْ كَافَّةً ۚ وَاعْلَمُوا أَنَّ اللَّهَ مَعَ الْمُتَّقِينَ

36  The number of months, according to God, is twelve months—in the decree of God—since the Day He created the heavens and the earth, of which four are sacred. This is the correct religion. So do not wrong yourselves during them. And fight the polytheists collectively, as they fight you collectively, and know that God is with the righteous.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *